13 Years Later…


Yesterday, August 25th, 2014, officially marked THIRTEEN YEARS since the untimely passing of the ONE, the ONLY… AALIYAHOf ALL things, one thing you should know about me is how much I absolutely LOVE this woman. I’ve made it clear all throughout my life.

I remember August 25th, 2001 like it was yesterday….

I was 10-years-old and it was early in the morning. I was sitting on the porch with my mom and we saw a bunch of our neighbors out in front of our house huddled around a newspaper…

We had NO idea what was going on, so my mom went outside to see what was up. (We have an enclosed porch) They let her look at the paper and she brought it back inside to me for me to take a look–

Then BOOM, there she was. Right there on the front page. It was an EXTREME close-up of her beautiful face filling up the entire front of that paper…and the headline that went with it….I’ll NEVER forget that newspaper. I don’t have the paper, but I swear, I will NEVER forget how I found out…

EVERYBODY was talking about it…and it’s so sad…

Now here I am, THIRTEEN years later. I’m 23 years old. I just turned 23 on July 31st. I can’t BELIEVE that I am OFFICIALLY….OLDER…than Aaliyah. 😦

How do you think that makes me FEEL inside?

I LOVE AALIYAH DANA HAUGHTON WITH EVERY FIBER OF MY BEING. From the bottom of my Heart to the depths of my Soul….I love that woman FOREVER ALWAYS.

Yeah, I admire other artists and things but….AALIYAH came FIRST for me. I learned SO MUCH from her and her influence on me is ever-present.

My style, my love for the color black, my love for snakes, my learning to ALWAYS be a lady keeping it sexy, classy and smooth, my learning to DREAM BIG and follow those dreams….my art, my interest in singing and dancing….Aaliyah’s done it ALL for me…

She was my STARTING POINT of my musical taste…and I miss her so much.

There’s not A SINGLE WOMAN in the Industry today who can even hold a HALF of a MATCH up to Aaliyah…she was too much to handle….and she was in her prime, already bright, getting READY to REALLY shine. Wow….

I just wish she was still here…she’d be 35, married, probably have some children as beautiful as she is, she’d still be SHUTTIN’ IT DOWNNE on the music charts, awards ceremonies and movie screens….and…she’d definitely still be that “Street but Sweet” girl the whole world fell in love with way back in ’94…damn.

But then I wake up and realize…it’ll never happen. And all I have are the music and memories of growing up with her influence…

She lives on in my Heart…Aaliyah will ALWAYS be my NUMBER ONE WOMAN…and I’ll say it just like THAT. (second only to my Mommy. Lol)

Aaliyah, I just want you to know that I still miss you and no matter WHAT happens, I’ll NEVER forget you; and as far as female role models, you’re my first, last, and only. Truly One In A Million, More Than A Woman….I love you.

So in honor of my QUEEN AALIYAH, I’d like to share with you an exclusive, never-before-seen piece I created.

I call it: Cosmic Indigo (/\/\LIY/\H)

 

 

4.-AALIYAH

If you’re interested in reading all about my adoration and fanship/stanship of Aaliyah, feel free to read these entries from my personal blog for a little more insight. 😉 I talk about Aaliyah here and here. ❤ 

 

❤ May this Young Queen, AALIYAH DANA HAUGHTON REST IN POWER. Ase. ❤

 

~SOULar Lioness XOXO

 

One thought on “13 Years Later…

We have someone with their hand raised?

