Sherrice’s Spelt Biscuits


image

A few years ago, I decided to stop eating so much bread with yeast and was disappointed by all of the gross recipes I tried. Then, I discovered a spelt biscuit recipe on Mother Culture One’s You Tube channel. Honored2BChosen made a similar version on her YouTube channel and I just had to make it my own.

Why spelt? Besides the fact that it’s yummy, it’s actually an ancient grain that’s good for you. According to the Nature’s Legacy for Life blog, the use of spelt is recorded in the Bible (Exodus 9:30, Isaiah 28:25, and Ezekiel 4:9). While it does contain gluten and is classified as wheat by the FDA, many people who experience reactions to wheat do not suffer the same way with spelt. Why? The wheat we eat today is dwarf wheat. It’s been genetically modified so that it grows shorter to decrease the time from seed to harvest. Unfortunately, many of us are allergic to this new form of wheat, as the gluten within it causes swelling, abdominal pain, and constipation. Surprisingly, this can even happens to people who aren’t diagnosed with celiac disease. It tends to go unnoticed because people are unaware of the symptoms. I challenge you to welcome spelt into your life and see if you notice the difference. Here’s a recipe to help you start. While many of you are vegan or vegetarian, I wanted to be sure I offered a Paleo option, too. Feel free to adjust the recipe according to your eating lifestyle. Technically, spelt is not an “approved” grain for those who follow the Paleo eating lifestyle. It is still much better than the wheat many of you tend to cheat with, though.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups organic spelt flour
  • 1 tablespoon aluminum free baking powder
  • 3/4 cup raw honey (or sweetener of your choice to make it vegan)
  • 1 teaspoon Pink Himalayan salt crystals (or sea salt)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil (make it vegan) OR organic butter from grassed cows (make it Paleo)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Coat a large 9 × 13 baking dish with extra virgin coconut oil (make it vegan) or organic butter from grassfed cows (make it Paleo) to prevent the biscuits from sticking to the pan
  • Blend dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl by stirring with a whisk
  • Wash and dry your hands
  • Add wet ingredients into the bowl
  • Use your hands to blend the wet and dry ingredients
  • Roll dough into approximately 12 – 15 disc shaped balls
  • Place the baking dish in the oven
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes
  • Serve plain, with preserves, jam, or raw honey

Serves 4-6 people

8 thoughts on “Sherrice’s Spelt Biscuits

  1. I can’t wait to try this. I avoid bread like the plague because of all the yeast and all in it. I even stopped eating Ezekiel bread for a bit. I only allow myself a piece of bread once a week or every other week. But this alternative makes me feel better about trying a new take on it.

  2. See, I’ve been seeing that pop up lately. “Aluminum-free baking powder.” But what is it? I never heard of it. I mean, where could I get it? I tried Google a few times but it was acting like it didn’t understand me.

We have someone with their hand raised?

