Keep Calm and Love Honey


keep-calm-and-love-honey-21

As I finalize my transition to a plant-based lifestyle, I’m continually confronted by the Vegan Nazis with a list of do’s and don’ts for official membership to their secret society.Of course, this isn’t a real group. It’s a name I’ve given to those vegans who have dedicated their lives to making sure everyone who identifies as vegan follows the official vegan rule book. The Vegan Nazis are clear about the definition of vegan –  you cannot eat, wear, or use products made from anything that looks like, smells like, and heaven forbids tastes like an animal.

beware-of-vegan-nazis.american-apparel-unisex-fitted-tee.black.w760h760

When I was confronted, I just happened to be making a cup of my famous Moontime Magic tea. A dedicated member of the Vegan Nazis (we’ll call him Joe) made a point to inform me that my raw honey was off limits. Ironically, I’ve never even talked to Joe before this day. He just happened to noticed that I ate either salad or vegetables and rice for lunch most days so I guess he assumed I was vegan. Joe called my raw honey “bee do do,” “insect dairy,” “bee feces,” “bee shit,” and many other names that I’ll spare you  from reading. He also shared that not only was honey Vegan Nazi contraband, so was bee pollen, royal jelly, propolis, and bee venom. Thank goodness I’m allergic to bee pollen and don’t use the other products he mentioned. I guess there’s hope for me yet. After listening to his reprimanding lecture, I kindly informed Joe that I’m not vegan,  I despise labels and animals aren’t my friends. I believe they belong in their natural habitats and I wish we’d stop trying to domesticate nature. You should have seen the look on his face. You would have thought I slapped his mother, called his grandma ugly, or something like that.

Vegan Nazi

In Joe’s defense, he shared some scientific knowledge to help me understand why honey was off limits. When bees make honey, their goal is to store food to eat over the cold winter period. When we claim the honey, we’re taking food right out of the bee’s mouths. He also shared that the techniques used to stop the bees in the hive from protecting the honey humans want to get, is detrimental to the life of the queen bee, workers, and drones. I listened intently and I’ll admit, everything Joe shared made sense. At the same time, I’m not willing to take honey out of my eating lifestyle at this point. I love it and plan to keep consuming it for now. In fact, I think I’ll end this blog post and make a cup of Reishi mushroom tea with lemon and raw honey.

Peace and blessings.

We have someone with their hand raised?

