Transformations


Last night, I watched Left Eye’s (from the successful 90’s R&B group, TLC) documentary for the first time EVER called “Last Days of Left Eye.” Yes, I know I’m years late, but the way I got to watch this in the first place was from what I call my YouTube Adventures. You know how you go on YouTube say, at 6 p.m. looking for something like maybe a tutorial for a Bantu knot-out but next thing you know, it 3 o’clock in the morning and now you’re watching Divine Nine strolling or a basket full of meowing little kittens? Yeah, it’s like that.

It all started with me listening to Aaliyah’s “Enough Said” (the fan-made SOLO version, because Drake is a pain in the ass to listen to), then I looked up “Drake on Aaliyah,” and a video popped up where Drake talks about how Aaliyah influenced his life and music. Under “Related Videos,” I saw a video that was titled, “Left Eye talks about Aaliyah’s Death.” So I watched that, then again, under “Related Videos” I spotted “Last Days of Left Eye.” THAT’S how this happened.

I was lured in by a certain curiosity about what this documentary could possibly contain. I mean, yeah I knew about TLC, listened to their music a little growing up, but I wasn’t a hard core fan. That’s why until last night, the only things that I was left “knowing” about Left Eye was that she was “a crazy so-and-so who burned down her boyfriend’s house.” But how very wrong I was, and I realized this as I watched the documentary. I learned so MUCH about Left Eye that I would have NEVER thought to associate with her.

tlc-900-600

Astrology! Numerology! Yoga! Herbs! Raw cleanses! Vegan/vegetarianism! What?! I was in TEARS by the time I got to the end of the video, then I was inspired to write about THIS today: Why do artists (any form of art creators) seem to pass away AS SOON AS they begin to undergo a major transformation bringing them closer to their higher selves? Why do they pass away AS SOON AS they’re about to cross over and take on a MAJOR POSITIVE CHANGE or MOVE in their lives? Left Eye. Aaliyah. Michael Jackson. Whitney Houston. The list goes on and on and on.

AA29

Aaliyah, a superstar, teenage sensation who blossomed into a beautiful young woman that stayed true to herself, her values, her image, a role model who never allowed herself to be consumed by the happenings around her…she already had the music game on lock, danced, modeled and THEN she hit us all with her ACTING! Aaliyah was slated to star in so many upcoming film projects, was taking more control of the creation of her music, wanted to start writing her songs, showed us her growth over the years and then….the plane crash.

lisa-left-eye-lopes

Left Eye, the zany, spunky outspoken member of TLC, she had endured so much in her life, ESPECIALLY once she became famous…after all the ups and downs with the group and her personal life, she broke away, worked on HERSELF (Know Thyself, Heal Thyself, Love Thyself, Be Thyself) and she was ready to release some solo projects, manage a new girl group called Egypt, help the children of Honduras (the country where she found her solace) and then…the car crash.

superb-michael-jackson-15842058-1960-1333black

Michael Jackson, in show business since he was five-years-old, he grew up in a tight-knit, but strict family, he was taunted and teased by family and strangers alike, but he overcame ALL obstacles and went on to become The King of Pop and the GREATEST ENTERTAINER OF ALL TIME. After all the disgrace and attempts to tarnish his name and legacy, Michael wanted to leave the country and retire from tours, etc. and pursue films and other projects but Michael was going to come back to serve the world that famous Moonwalk ONE LAST TIME and then…the murder (say what you want, that man, my Angel, was MURDERED).

whitney_houston-news-article21612

Whitney Houston, beautiful pop sensation of the 80s and 90s with a HUGE, POWERFUL voice that stirred your heart, soul, EVERYTHING, who also overcame obstacles of drug abuse, media ridicule, dysfunctional relationship, etc…she was gearing up for the best comeback ever and then….the drowning.

My mind is sent REELING every time I sit and think about the way these talented beings left this world and the TIMING of it all. I know we say, “Everything happens for a reason,” “Destiny and Fate are already written” blah, blah, blah…but for people like THEM, there is no understanding. If we are all Spirits sent here in Human form on a mission to complete and a purpose to fulfill, why then are these people taken away at what seems to be only their beginning?

It makes me think about myself as an artist, as a Creatress …as a Spirit inhabiting this Human body for a certain amount of time. What will my legacy be? Will I have fulfilled my purpose before I go? Will my life be cut short?

Have you ever felt this way?

One thought on “Transformations

We have someone with their hand raised?

